Prosper and Lending Club Loan Discussions

Operated and hosted by The Computer Wizard.

Check us out!
 
September 07, 2010, 09:45:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Come to this forum for anything and everything related to making Prosper loans work.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Forum Security Alert.  (Read 220 times)
xode
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1178


Email
« on: May 22, 2010, 02:27:41 PM »

It looks like hackers are attacking websites by inserting malicious javascript into the script (program) files for various web programs including the SMF forum software which runs this site.  Details are at:

http://community.godaddy.com/godaddy/the-latest-information-on-compromised-sites/

http://community.godaddy.com/godaddy/whats-up-with-go-daddy-wordpress-php-exploits-and-malware/

Please post any unusual activity that you see on this site to this thread.
Logged
DCS
Verified Prosper Lenders
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 64


« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 02:46:41 PM »

User Giorgio sent me a PM that looks like spam.  It's titled "My webinar" and the contents are:

Quote
Logged
God-Father
Verified Prosper Lenders
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 426


Don't be late!!!


« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 03:15:06 PM »

Me too.
Logged


Long live Prosper and XODE's forum.
xode
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1178


Email
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 03:17:27 PM »

User Giorgio sent me a PM that looks like spam.  It's titled "My webinar" and the contents are:

Quote

What the link here lead to didn't look so hot, so Giorgio is now in the Null Posters group (i.e. basically a guest that can receive but not send personal messages and that can look at but not do anything to his profile).
Logged
BigCowboy
Verified Prosper Lenders
Full Member
*****
Posts: 237


« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2010, 05:08:45 PM »

I got it too....

-BigCowboy
Logged

roadhawk
Verified Prosper Lenders
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 586



Email
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2010, 02:03:44 PM »

I don't see anything weird on my end and no PM....
Logged

xode
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1178


Email
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2010, 02:08:29 AM »

I don't see anything weird on my end and no PM....

Please let me know immediately if you ever do see anything unusual.  The hosting provider has created a tool to check if a site is infected, and I had them check this forum and it was clean.  Unfortunately, however, SCP's forum got hit.
Logged
go4reward
Verified Prosper Lenders
Newbie
*****
Posts: 1


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2010, 08:59:04 AM »

Yes, but our forum is back after the clean up, see link:
http://forums.go4reward.com/site-news-feedbacks/we-are-back!/msg3636/#msg3636

Watch out for PHP file changes as a group, the change will have the following signature at the top as:
<?php /**/ eval(base64_decode("aWYoZnVuY3Rpb25fZXhpc..........

If you don't have those, you should be fine.

xode: added url and /url tags to fix the above link; apparently a "!" will cause a link to end with it unless these tags are used.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2010, 12:07:40 PM by xode » Logged

SCP Prosper, P2P Lending, Investing, And Finance Forum - Come joins us for Prosper loans and investing idea discussions.
xode
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1178


Email
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2010, 12:15:28 PM »

Yes, but our forum is back after the clean up, see link:
http://forums.go4reward.com/site-news-feedbacks/we-are-back!/msg3636/#msg3636

Watch out for PHP file changes as a group, the change will have the following signature at the top as:
<?php /**/ eval(base64_decode("aWYoZnVuY3Rpb25fZXhpc..........

If you don't have those, you should be fine.

xode: added url and /url tags to fix the above link; apparently a "!" will cause a link to end with it unless these tags are used.


My next question is: how (with details) are these hackers able to change those PHP files?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!